Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Reviews

Rachael Ray Nutrish Recalls

Rachael Ray Nutrish vs Simply Nourish Dog food review

Based on our research , Rachael Ray Nutrish has issued a recall in the past and therefore is not a recall-free pet food brand.

In June 2015, Rachael Ray Nutrish issued a recall of several of its wet cat food products due to the potential of elevated levels of Vitamin D.

Cat food is tested for several vitamins and minerals to ensure that levels are within safe ranges if they are not, they can sometimes cause serious health issues.

Vitamin D, in particular, can cause symptoms such as vomiting, diarrhea, increased thirst and urination, and a lack of appetite.

You can see the list of wet cat food recipes or variety packs included in this recall below.

  • Paw Lickin Chicken & Liver, 2.8 oz. single pack, Best by date of Aug. 17, 2016
  • Ocean Fish & Chicken Catch-iatore, 2.8 oz. single pack, Best by date of Dec. 1, 2016
  • Ocean Fish-a-licious, 2.8 oz. single pack, Best by date of Dec. 1, 2016
  • Tuna Purrfection, 2.8 oz. single pack, Best by date of Dec. 1, 2016
  • Lip Smackin Sardine & Mackerel, 2.8 oz. single pack, Best by date of Dec. 1, 2016
  • Chicken Lovers Variety Pack, 12 count pack of 2.8 oz cups, Best by date of Dec. 1, 2016
  • Ocean Lovers Variety Pack, 12 count pack of 2.8 oz cups, Best by date of Dec. 1, 2016

However, this is the only recall we could find evidence for, and we do not believe Rachael Ray Nutrish has issued any further recalls since.

How I Finally Found The Best Brand Of Wet Dog Food For My Dogs:

Over the years, Ive discovered that after much trial and error, my dogs have seen the most benefits with Rachael Rays Nutrish line. The brand offers a great line of dry and wet dog food products that my dogs love the taste of. As a dog owner, I like that its easily accessible, affordable, and offers products made with healthy ingredients that support my dogs needs.

When searching for wet dog food, always look for ingredients you recognize and can pronounce in the ingredient list. If a product contains natural foods and that you can buy at the supermarket yourself, chances are, its a great option.

Consider how most of us look at the ingredient list and/or the nutrition label of foods we buy for ourselves. Many of us give consideration to at least some aspect of food selection depending on our personal needs, tastes, and health goals or health needs. The food we buy for our dogs should be no different.

Which Types Of Dogs Might Do Better With A Different Brand

Dogs with food-based allergies or digestive issues may not do well with Rachael Ray Nutrish. If your dog has these conditions, we recommend trying Purina Pro Plan Sensitive Skin & Stomach Formula dry dog food for better results and itching relief. Also, dogs that burn lots of energy as hunting or working dogs should look for performance dog food, like Sport Dog Food Elite Series dog food. Otherwise, most dogs should be fine on Nutrish recipes.

Read Also: High Protein Wet Dog Food

Reviews Of The 2 Best Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Recipes:

1. Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food

Reasons to suggest

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Natural Chicken & Veggies Recipe dry dog food is one of the most popular recipes in the Nutrish dog food line.
  • Its made with whole chicken as the first ingredient, which is a good source of protein for most dogs.
  • This recipe, along with the other Nutrish recipes, is fortified with vitamins and minerals to give your dog the nutrients he needs daily.
  • It contains no by-products or fillers, leaving out those poor-quality ingredients often found in lower-quality dog food brands.
  • It is also affordable for the quality, it is, therefore, a good option for dog owners looking to try premium dog food.
  • However, it contains peas, which are currently considered a controversial ingredient as we mentioned earlier.

Distribution of ingredients:

  • Fortified with vitamins and minerals
  • Contains no by-products or fillers
  • Affordable for the quality

2. Rachael Ray Nutrish Dry Dog Food

Reasons to suggest

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish PEAK Grain-Free Beef, Venison & Lamb Dry Dog Food is a dry food for adult dogs.
  • It features a higher protein content of 30% which is higher than their other recipes.
  • Its made with whole beef, venison, and lamb, with no poultry by-products or artificial ingredients.
  • PEAK contains chicken fat and salmon oil, two sources of omega-3 and omega-6 fatty acids. Its also less expensive for a premium brand, which is great for dog owners looking for a new type of food.

Distribution of ingredients:

Wet Dog Food Versus Dry Dog Food: Which One Is Best

Rachael Ray Nutrish Super Premium Wet Dog Food Review

Perhaps youve had a hard time deciding whether you should feed your dog wet or dry foodor whether you should use both forms, as I do. The benefits of wet food are that wet dog food tends to be easier for dogs to break down and digest since it contains more water than dry dog food. Water aids in the digestion of various fats, proteins, and fibers which can be helpful if your dog struggles with getting enough water during feeding times. Some wet food products are also higher in nutrition than dry food options. All pets differ and are unique, so as a dog owner, these are some things I took into consideration for my four dogs when deciding which option to choose. In the end, I found a daily one-time dose of wet dog food to be a great option for my dogs.

Also Check: What Food Should My Dog Eat

About Rachael Ray Nutrish Pet Products

Celebrity chef and TV personality Rachael Ray launched Rachael Ray Nutrish line of pet products in 2008, looking to change the way we feed and care for our pets. Inspired by her Pit Bull, Isaboo, Ray wanted to provide pet owners with high-quality products at a lower cost than other big names and premium brands. Today, Rachael Rays Nutrish has dozens of products available, from different dog food to collars and other accessories.

Rachael Ray Nutrish products are manufactured by Ainsworth Pet Nutrition, who is owned by the manufacturing giant, J. M. Smucker. Based in Pennsylvania, Ainsworth and Smucker both manufacture multiple different brands of dog food. One potential issue with Rachael Ray Nutrishs manufacturing practices is due to some outsourcing to Thailand however, all Nutrish dry food is manufactured and processed in the United States.

What Formulas Does Rachael Ray Dog Food Have

In this Rachael Ray Nutrish super premium dog food review, I will detail the dry food variety by this brand. There are five Rachael Ray product lines.

Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food includes recipes that are made with a mix of real meat, grains, and superfoods to ensure the canine gets balanced natural nutrition. These are adult formulas with chicken and sweet potato, beef, and turkey flavors to add variety to your dogs daily nutrition. This product line includes recipes specially formulated for small and large dogs to provide healthy nutrition and cover their special dietary needs.

  • Rachael Ray Puppy Food with Real Chicken and Brown Rice
  • Rachael Ray SuperMedleys Wellness Blend Superfoods & Chicken Recipe
  • Rachael Ray Weight Management Dog Food with Turkey, Brown Rice & Venison
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Chicken & Veggies Recipe

Rachael Ray Dish dog food is the product line known for having three mouth-watering recipes inspired by Rachael’s kitchen. There are both Rachael Ray zero grain dog food and grain-inclusive food options.

  • Rachael Ray Nutrish DISH Chicken & Brown Rice Recipe With Veggies & Fruit
  • Rachael Ray Nutrish DISH Beef & Brown Rice Recipe With Veggies, Fruit & Chicken
  • Rachael Ray Just 6 Lamb Meal & Brown Rice Recipe
  • Rachael Ray Just 6 Grain Free Turkey Meal & Pea Recipe
  • Rachael Ray Zero Grain Salmon and Sweet Potato Recipe
  • Rachael Ray Zero Grain Beef and Bison Recipe with Potatoes

Read Also: What Is The Best Dog Food On The Market

Rachael Ray Dog Food Reviews

Top 5 Ingredients*

Our Analysis

We stand divided on Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food, which is why we only give this brand 3 stars. We like that the formulas contain meat or meat products at the top of the ingredient list, as dogs need a great deal of protein in their diets for optimum health. In addition, egg products and healthy vegetables add additional protein, fiber and nutrients. However, we find that both the wet and dry versions of this brand contain a number of controversial ingredients that offer little nutritional value for dogs. For example, brown rice is not necessarily bad for dogs, but it offers few vitamins, minerals or proteins. In addition, the use of corn, soybean meal and pasta made from wheat flour can cause problems for dogs with allergies. Overall, Rachael Ray Nutrish dog food is just an average brand, and although it is cheaper than many other premium dog foods, you may want to consider paying a bit more for a dog food with fewer fillers.

The Word on the Street…

  • Chelle82

    We feed our dogs Just 6 and have had no issues at all, just good results as they have lots of energy and their coats are super shiny.

  • Katelyn

    As soon as my dog ran out of her other food, we started feeding her this. and as soon as she started eating it she started getting diarrhea.

  • Gizzy

    Our dog is so sick on this food!!! Switched to home cook food and he is doing better!!!

  • Linda H

    My yorkie developed pancreatitis..might be this wet food product

  • sarino

    THEN STOP FEEDING IT!!! GEEZ

  • About Rachael Ray Pet Products

    Rachael Ray’s Nutrish “DISH” dog food- Influenster unboxing AND taste test!

    Rachael Ray for Dogs and Cats was founded in 2008 after the famous celebrity chef wanted to create a dog food for her Pit Bull, Isaboo. Rachael Ray has been involved in multiple product promotions, including Nabisco crackers. A huge animal advocate herself, Ray continues to support local shelters and charities from her pet product line. She also founded Rachaels Rescue, an adoption program to help find homes for pets in need.

    The Nutrish wet food line is made in both Thailand and the United States, but the Nutrish dry food recipes for both dogs and cats are solely produced in the U.S. Theyre manufactured by Ainsworth Pet Nutrition in Pennsylvania, manufactures the Walmart-exclusive Pure Balance brand as well. Except for a dismissed lawsuit in 2017, the company has not been involved in any major controversies.

    Recommended Reading: Where To Buy Holistic Dog Food

    Rachael Ray Nutrish Dog Food Review

    Customers simply love this dog food for their dogs and the reviews for Rachael Ray Dog Food certainly show this. Great taste, natural ingredients, healthy skin and coats are just a few of the reasons why customers love this dog food. And, dogs are wolfing down this kibble you cant beat the great taste and healthy ingredients.

    What Do Others Say About Rachael Ray

    As of the time of this update

    Chewy customers rate Rachael Ray 4.5 out of 5 stars and 92% say they would recommend it to others.

    Heres an actual user review

    Sample buyer reviewWhen the food arrived we knew something was different than the other foods we have used because both dogs immediately followed me into the pantry and sniffed the bag from top to bottom. They actually were drooling when I was putting the food into their bowls. I have not had to enhance their meals and they dont leave until their bowls are empty. For us that is well worth the price for this brand.

    You May Like: What Foods Are Toxic To Dogs

    Rachael Ray Nutrish Premium Natural Dry Dog Food

    • Rachael Ray Nutrish Real Beef, Pea & Brown Rice Recipe Dry Dog Food, is a delicious, super premium dog food recipe made the Rachael Ray way with lots of love and only the best, high-quality ingredients.
    • The #1 ingredient is real beef, which is a good source of protein, helps support healthy organs and helps maintain lean muscle mass.
    • All in a tasty recipe dogs love!

    Food For All Life Stages

    Rachael Ray Nutrish Super Premium Wet Dog Food Review

    Rachael Ray Nutrishs wet food recipes are safe for dogs of all ages to eat. Some will do well with having these dishes as meal toppers while others can enjoy them as full meals. This is convenient because if your puppy can safely enjoy eating the wet food recipes, then you dont have to worry about transitioning it to a new food as it gets older.

    Also Check: Who Makes Pure Balance Dog Food

    Carbohydrates: Ground Rice + Ground Corn

    Ground rice and corn are the two primary carbohydrates included in the Real Chicken & Veggies recipe. Generally speaking, these are regarded as low-quality carbohydrates, and most premium dog foods avoid them.

    Note that dogs do not require carbohydrates at all they are only included in dog foods because they are an inexpensive source of calories.

    In a perfect world, youd probably feed your dog a diet primarily comprised of proteins and healthy fats. But this would be quite expensive to do several thousand calories of chicken per week would cost a pretty penny.

    Ground rice is essentially rice flour, and while it is free of glutens, it doesnt provide a whole lot of nutritional value, aside from the calories it contains. Corn is not a problem for dogs who arent allergic to it, but it is generally avoided by most premium dog food manufacturers.

    Real Chicken & Veggies derives about 41% of its calories from carbohydrates. While theres nothing necessarily wrong with this, it is far more than would be ideal.

    Which Types Of Dogs Is Rachael Ray Nutrish Best Suited For

    Rachael Ray Nutrish is a great option for companion pets, especially dogs that may need a more specialized diet. The line has a variety of different options to choose from, so its more inclusive than other brands at the same price. Its a good brand for picky eaters, with recipes containing freeze-dried raw meat chunks for more flavor. Aside from specific allergen triggers, Nutrish can be suitable for most dogs.

    Read Also: Changing Dog Food Side Effects

    Who Makes Rachael Ray Nutrish And Where Is It Produced

    Rachael Ray Nutrish was launched in 2008. The food was initially produced by Dads Pet Care, and The JM Smucker Company eventually acquired the brand.

    The dog food is made in various locations. All the dry dog food is made in the US by Big Heart Pet Brands, which is under The JM Smucker Company. The wet food is manufactured in Thailand.

    Discussion Of The Primary Ingredients

    Rachael Ray Nutrish PEAK Dog Food

    The primary ingredients in Rachael Ray Nutrish Bright Puppy are chicken, brown rice, and peas. Chicken is a good source of protein for dogs. It is also relatively low in fat. Brown rice is a complex carbohydrate that can provide energy for puppies. Peas are a good source of fiber and vitamins.

    However, there are some potential concerns with the ingredients in this food. First of all, chicken is a common allergen for dogs. Additionally, brown rice can be difficult to digest for some dogs. Finally, peas contain lectins, which can be harmful to dogs if they consume too much.

    Don’t Miss: Who Carries Oc Raw Dog Food

    Discussion Of Main Ingredients

    Whole Chicken Meat

    Whole chicken meat is the first ingredient in most Rachael Ray Nutrish varieties, so thats a good sign when looking at dog food ingredient lists. There are other sources of protein in Nutrish, but its good to see whole meat in one of the top five ingredients. Whole chicken tends to be easier to digest and absorb than meat meal but shrinks in size after cooking because it is mostly water.

    Chicken meal

    Chicken meal is the second or third ingredient in Rachael Ray Nutrish recipes, which means extra protein for your dog. Chicken meal tends to get a bad rap for being a processed ingredient, but it contains more protein than whole meat and is only made with the clean parts of the chicken.

    Dried peas

    Peas are found in many grain-free dog food recipes as a form of non-grain carbohydrate, but there have been recent studies that show a link between canine heart disease and peas, legumes, and potatoes. Earth. Although its not just the peas, it could be a concern if your dog already has heart problems. Also, Nutrish is listed by the FDA in their major recall of foods containing peas, legumes, and potatoes due to the presence of these ingredients in most of their food products.

    Soybean meal

    Why I Like Rachael Ray Nutrish Wet Dog Food

    Rachael Ray Nutrish Super Premium Wet Dog Food is a brand of wet dog food that contains real ingredients such as real chicken, veggies, brown rice, carrots, peas, lean beef, lamb, and essential vitamins and minerals.

    The first time I purchased this wet dog food, I had a hunch my dogs would love it, despite that many of them are extremely picky eaters. All of my dogs have different allergies, personal tastes, and preferences. Two of them have skin allergies, one develops regular yeasts infections if she eats dog food that doesnt sit well with her system, and another one regularly has constipation and diarrhea issues if she eats the wrong kind of food for her body.

    All of my dogs are all huge fans of the Nutrish line of dry dog food and love every flavor that it comes in, so when Rachael Rays wet dog food products were released, I felt good about feeding them to my dogs to test out. In the end, I experimented with a total of five different brands before finally deciding to stick to the Nutrish line one because it offered the best ingredients, price, and availability of all the options I tried.

    Most importantly, my dogs really seem to enjoy this line of products, and it has never caused any digestive concerns for them or triggered the specific health and skin issues each one suffers from. Keep in mind, this experience isnt guaranteed for all dogs, but due to my experience, I do believe its a great option.

    Don’t Miss: Who Sells Blue Buffalo Dog Food

    Popular Articles
    Related news