Wednesday, February 21, 2024

Ol Roy Dog Food Reviews

What Are The Sub

Ol’ Roy Complete Nutrition Dog Food Review

Ol Roy dog food offers a wide variety of products to choose from. The following are the sub-brands of this dog food.

  • Dry foods: The brand offers a wide range of dry food products to choose from. Under this line, there are formulas for small breeds, puppies, and large breeds, as well as high-performance recipes.
  • Wet formulas: This line offers a wide range of recipes that come in various forms, including traditional loaf-style wet food, strips, slices, and cuts in gravy.
  • Treats: Besides wet and dry food products, this brand also offers a wide range of dog treats, including chewy treats, biscuits, bully sticks, dental chews, and bones.

Ol Roy Kibbles N Bits Dogfood

Ok Roy Kibbles n Bits dog food is very affordable and a good dog food for my dog.My dog really likes OL ROY Kibbles n Bits dog food ever since I bought him this brand.Don’t get me wrong,he likes the soft meaty dog food as well,but since my dog likes this product ,it’s better for me since its much more affordable.Quality of IngredientsThe quality of OL ROY Kibbles n Bits dog food is a good type of dog food.Since my dog is pretty healthy and doesn’t have any allergies etc.This product is really good for my dog.Ever since my dog used this dog food,he’s been eating it and loving every bit of it.It doesn’t bother his teeth in anyway.Flavor SelectionOk Roy Kibbles n Bits dog food is not only very affordable,it’s flavor selection is great as well.I will continue to buy my dog this dog food since he likes this product and also since its affordable for me.Every time I feed my dog this dog food,he always eats it like if it’s his first time he’s tried it.So I really know he likes this dog food a lot.So I definitely highly recommend anybody that have a financial problem,to buy this product for their dog.

Ol’ Roy Cuts In Gravy Wet Dog Food Variety Pack 132

Personally, I really like this variety from Ol Roy. I mean I dont like eating it, but as a dog food it is better than most other products. Any article with the title best dog food review normally contains dog foods with only one kind of flavor.

But this Ol Roy product contains three kinds of food in 12 cans . Even the texture of the food is quite different than other dog foods. The food is mainly meat cuts in gravy.

It is a type of dog food that your freind would like. My dog buddies started liking it from the very first serving. And since there are three flavors, they are also able to enjoy variety.

The three flavors include Lamb and Rice, Savory Chicken Dinner and Country Gravy Stew. The foods contain real lamb and chicken cuts. So there remains no question regarding Ol Roys food quality. It has high customer rating in online shops as well and everyone who fed it to their dogs gave a thumbs up.

I am one of them. This three-flavor dog food is a complete package of nutrients, minerals, vitamins, and proteins. It is a balanced diet, so your dog will not become overweight. The food is prepared for dogs of all breeds and dogs of all ages.

I have my own grownup dogs and two of my neighbors have pups with parents, and all of our dogs enjoy this same Ol Roy dog food. Given the quantity and quality, this is also a very cost effective product. So altogether, this is probably the best Ol Roy dog food I have come across till now.

Don’t Miss: Changing Dog Food Side Effects

About Ol Roy Dog Food

Launched in 1981, Ol Roy dog food is a private-label brand owned by Walmart. The brand is named after Sam Waltons bird dog, Ol Roy. This dog food aims at providing quality nutrition for dogs at very affordable prices. It offers a wide range of products, including puppy formulas, high-performance recipes, and all life-stage formulations that come in wet and dry forms.

What Is Ol Roy Dog Food

Ol Roy Dog Food 2021 Review, Rating, &  Recalls

Ol Roy Dog Food is the private label store brand of Walmart and is named after Sam Waltons bird dog, Ol Roy.

Walmarts brand of dog food came about in 1981 when Walton got the idea to start a dog food brand that would provide similar quality products as other brands while costing less money.

They contracted with Doane Pet Care Company to make their products. Doane Pet Care, as well as Ol Roy, is owned by Mars Corporation, the largest manufacturer of pet food in the world.

Don’t Miss: Is Rachael Ray Food Good For Dogs

What Do Others Say About Ol Roy

Most of the Amazon reviews are positive. People mostly seem to be happy with the price and say that their dogs gobble up the food. We think low-quality may be one reason for this. Some customers were concerned about the level of food quality. Here is a review from one customer:

Seriously, who feeds their dogs this crap. If you do, you should have them taken away by the Humane Society and re-homed. This is garbage and will do nothing for your dog except giving them the stinkiest farts youve ever smelledlike all day long. Youd be better off feeding your dog York Peppermint Patties.

Ol Roy Cuts In Gravy Country Stew Flavor

This high-protein food features meaty chunks served in a rich and tasty sauce. The meal is designed to provide fully balanced nutrition for adult dogs of all breeds and sizes. Besides the great taste, this food is packed with all the necessary nutrients to support your dogs overall health.

This recipe stands out because it contains real chicken and some beef, giving it an outstanding flavor that dogs cant resist. The food also comes in a soft texture, making it ideal for senior pups or dogs with teeth issues.

  • First 5 Ingredients: Water sufficient for processing, Chicken, Meat by-products, wheat flour, and Wheat gluten
  • Guaranteed Analysis: Crude Protein 8% min, Crude Fat 3% min, Crude Fiber 1%
  • Calories: 340 kcal/ cup
  • Suitable for which dogs: Dogs of all breeds, small, medium, and large breeds.
  • Feeding: Appropriate feeding amounts differ depending on the dogs weight, age, health status, and activity level.
  • Key Benefit: Complete and balanced nutrition designed to promote overall health in adult dogs.
  • Type of product: Wet food
  • Life stage: Adult
  • Best for Overall health, energy, and vitality support
  • Price: $0.67 for 13.2 oz

Benefits

Recommended Reading: Best Dog Food Sensitive Skin

List Of Ol Roy Dog Food Recalls

Cause: Potential for low levels of pentobarbital. Announcement: FDA announcement dated Feb. 16, 2018, and updated dated March 2, 2018 . What was recalled: The following Ol Roy dog food manufactured from 2016 to Feb. 16, 2018:

  • Ol Roy Strips Turkey Bacon, 13.2 oz. can, UPC# 8113117570

Cause: Potential for salmonella. Announcement: Company announcement dated Nov. 25, 2008 expanded from earlier FDA report dated Oct. 27, 2008. What was recalled: The following Ol Roy dry dog foods with best by dates between Aug. 11 and Oct. 3, 2009 and produced at Allentown, Pennsylvania :

  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 4 lb., UPC #8113117550
  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 4.4 lb., UPC #8113169377
  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 8 lb., UPC #0538867144
  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 20 lb., UPC #8113117549
  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 22 lb., UPC #0538860342
  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 44.1 lb., UPC #8113117551
  • Ol Roy Complete Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 50 lb., UPC #7874201022
  • Ol Roy Puppy Complete Premium Dog Food, 4 lb., UPC #8113179078
  • Ol Roy Puppy Complete Premium Dog Food, 20 lb., UPC #8113179080
  • Ol Roy High Performance Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 20 lb., UPC #0538860345
  • Ol Roy High Performance Nutrition Premium Dog Food, 50 lb., UPC #7874205815
  • Ol Roy Meaty Chunks n Gravy Premium Dog Food, 22 lb., UPC #8113169630
  • Ol Roy Meaty Chunks n Gravy Premium Dog Food, 50 lb., UPC #8113169631

Ol Roy Dog Food Advantages: What We Like About It

Alpo Prime Cuts VS Ol’ Roy Cuts In Gravy (Dog Food) Review

These are some of the things we like about Ol Roy dog food:

  • Affordability: If you are looking for cost-effective dog food that does not disappoint your pockets, then Ol Roy dog food is a good option. This food was produced to provide low-cost nutrition for dogs.
  • Offers wet and dry food options: Ol Roy dog food offers various formulas and recipes that come in wet and dry forms. This makes it easy to choose what appeals to your dog.
  • Wide range of products: This dog food brand provides a wide range of products to choose from. It has formulas for puppies and adult dogs that come in dry and wet forms.
  • Adherence to AAFCO standards: Ol Roy dog food is formulated to meet all safety and quality standards set by AAFCO. All the recipes are approved for the relevant life stages.
  • Complete nutrition: Ol Roy dog food provides all the nutrients that dogs require to remain healthy. The food offers complete and balanced meals to support dogs good health.
  • Availability: This dog food is widely available from various pet stores worldwide. You can get it from online stores and local grocery stores near you.
  • Formulations for all life stages: Ol Roy offers recipes that cater to dogs at different life stages, from puppies through adulthood and senior dogs.

Read Also: Where Is Pedigree Dog Food Made

Ol’ Roy Puppy Complete

It is quite easy to find a proper dog food for your adult dog. But it is not so when it comes to finding one for your puppy. A pup is delicate, and we need to be very careful in taking its care. Special care is needed in the first one or two years of their lives.

If they get to have a proper diet in their growing stage, they will be able to lead a healthy and active life later on. With the Ol Roy Puppy Complete, you will be able to give all the things your pup needs to grow up fit and strong. This dog food is a perfect blend of proteins, carbs, vitamins, minerals and Omega 6 Fatty acids.

Protein and carbs help to build the muscle and keep it strong. Strong muscles are a secret to a long and active life for any dog. The dog food is rich in Calcium. And calcium helps to keep the bones strong and the teeth healthy.

Minerals and vitamins in this dog food assist in the overall development of the pup. They keep our little friends safe from diseases. Omega 6 fatty acids play the vital role of nourishing the skin and the fur coat.

And lastly, it has DHA that helps in brain development. In short, this is a complete package for a puppy. It has great taste and flavor. The food itself is kibble sized, so the pups can easily eat and digest it.

If you feed this Ol Roy dog food throughout the first year of your puppys life, rest assured that their coming years will be full of action and happiness.

  • You need to be careful and adhere to the instructions while feeding this to your puppy.

Ol Roy Puppy Formulas

As the company claims that all their recipes, both dry and wet, meet the AAFCO nutrient profiles required for all life stages, the exclusive Ol Roy puppy product variety is not that huge. Actually, there is only one recipe designed for puppies. This kibble contains higher levels of protein and fat to ensure the immature pet gets all the nutrients they need to grow into healthy adults.

  • Ol’ Roy Puppy Complete Chicken & Oatmeal Flavor Dry Food For Puppies

Don’t Miss: Can I Add Chicken Broth To My Dogs Food

What Is The Nutritional Profile Of Ol Roy Dog Foods

Its important to have a keen look at the nutritional content of any dog food before settling for it. This will give you important insights into its suitability and ability to meet your dogs specific needs.

Carbohydrate Value of Ol Roy Dog Food

Carbohydrates make good sources of energy that dogs need to fuel their activities. Dogs need the energy released when carbohydrates are broken down to play and work. The brand uses low-glycemic carbohydrates like peas, lentils, and chickpeas as their carbohydrate sources. Ol Roy has an above-average carbohydrate level of 56%.

Protein Value of Ol Roy Dog Food

Protein is essential for healthy muscles and tissues and boosting dogs performance. Proteins supply dogs amino acids to build, repair, and maintain healthy cells, tissues, ligaments, and muscles. Ol Roy dog food has a below-average protein level of 25%.

Fat Value of Ol Roy Dog Food

Fats are essential for keeping your dogs skin and coat healthy and supple but also helpful in lowering cholesterol levels, minimizing inflammations, building stronger cell membranes, and improving brain health. This dog food has a low-fat level of 11%.

Who Owns Ol Roy Dog Food

Ol

As indicated earlier, Ol Roy dog food is a private-label store owned and sold by Walmart. Doane Pet Care Company produced this dog food until 2007 when it was acquired by Mars Corporation, which continued producing it. It remains unclear whether Ol Roy dog food is produced in the USA or elsewhere as this is not stated on the foods label.

Also Check: Royal Canin Pv Dog Food

Ol Roy Tasty Benefits Dog Food Review

Judging by its ingredients alone, Ol Roy Tasty Benefits dog food looks like an above-average wet product.

But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the products meat content before determining a final rating.

The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 36%, a fat level of 36% and estimated carbohydrates of about 19%.

As a group, the brand features an average protein content of 36% and a mean fat level of 36%. Together, these figures suggest a carbohydrate content of 19% for the overall product line.

And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 100%.

Below-average protein. Above-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical wet dog food.

Even when you consider the protein-boosting effect of the peas, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a moderate amount of meat.

However, with 61% of the total calories in our example coming from fat versus just 25% from protein, some recipes may not be suitable for every animal. In addition, this same finding also prevents us from awarding the brand a higher rating.

Bottom line?

Ol Roy Tasty Benefits is a meat-based wet dog food using a moderate amount of beef or chicken as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 2.5 stars.

Not recommended.

Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and their fat-to-protein ratios.

Ol Roy Dog Food Review The Best Choices You Can Make

You might not notice but Ol Roy has a plethora of dog diets. Selecting one from the pile is tough. Unless of course you are aware of the thing you want for your dog.

We all have dogs that are different in breed and age. Thats why Ive selected the top diet recipes from Ol Roy for your Canine friends. Of course, you can research. But in case you want the cheat sheet to top quality recipes, here they are:

You May Like: Is Just 6 Dog Food Grain Free

Ol Roy Dog Food Withdrawn For Deadly Drug Contamination Pentobarbital Found In Canned Dog Food

UPDATE : Because of the tremendous amount of traffic this post has recieved and the overwhelming number of panicked replies and emails I need to emphasize that this article was written on February 15, 2018. While the problem with Ol Roy Dog Food may be dated, the problem of pentobarbital surfacing in pet food continues today.

Today, we learn of yet another national brand of dog food was found to contain the lethal euthanizing drug sodium pentobarbital: Walmarts brand Ol Roy canned dog food. Walmart, the nations largest retailer, is now in the process of quietly removing it from all 4,700 stores across America.

At this point, we do not know which Ol Roy formulas are affected. There is no information on Walmarts recall page about the Ol Roy pet food withdrawal, nor has Walmart made a public announcement.

This latest discovery was made during an investigation by ABC7 News into pentobarbital-laced pet food following the Evangers debacle. This news follows days after the revelation that several other Big Heart Brand dog foods also tested positive for the drug. After ABC7 releasing the results of lab tests that identified the drug, the FDA launched an investigation.

FOUR BRANDS + MULTIPLE VARIETIES NAMED

GRAVY TRAINS DENIAL OF RESPONSIBILITY

BIG HEART BRANDS EMPIRE OF NATIONAL BRANDS

GRAVY TRAIN CONTAMINATED PRODUCT

Why Is Ol Roy Dog Food Bad

Cesar – Old Roy Dog Food Grilled Chicken Taste Test Product Review
  • What company makes Ol Roy dog food?
  • In March 2007, hundreds of Ol Roy products were recalled as part of the melamine crisis. Again, in June 2007, Ol Roy Dog Food was recalled because of possible salmonella contamination. Ol Roy Dog Foods troubles continued with yet another recall in 2008 due to possible salmonella contamination.

    Recommended Reading: Is Wet Food Good For Dogs

    Ol Roy Strips In Gravy Dog Food Review

    Judging by its ingredients alone, Ol Roy Strips in Gravy dog food looks like a below-average canned product.

    But ingredient quality by itself cannot tell the whole story. We still need to estimate the products meat content before determining a final rating.

    The dashboard displays a dry matter protein reading of 44%, a fat level of 17% and estimated carbohydrates of about 31%.

    And a fat-to-protein ratio of about 38%.

    Above-average protein. Below-average fat. And below-average carbs when compared to a typical canned dog food.

    Free of any plant-based protein boosters, this looks like the profile of a wet product containing a notable amount of meat.

    Bottom line?

    Ol Roy Strips in Gravy is a meat-based canned dog food using a notable amount of chicken and meat by-products as its main sources of animal protein, thus earning the brand 1.5 stars.

    Not recommended.

    Please note certain recipes are sometimes given a higher or lower rating based upon our estimate of their total meat content and their fat-to-protein ratios.

    Popular Articles
    Related news